Cookies op Tweakers

Tweakers maakt gebruik van cookies, onder andere om de website te analyseren, het gebruiksgemak te vergroten en advertenties te tonen. Door gebruik te maken van deze website, of door op 'Ga verder' te klikken, geef je toestemming voor het gebruik van cookies. Wil je meer informatie over cookies en hoe ze worden gebruikt, bekijk dan ons cookiebeleid.

Meer informatie
Bekijk alle reviews

Oppo Find 7a Zwart Review

+2
AccroCitroen 7 juni 2014, laatste update op 1 juli 2014, 3.463 views

Oppo Find 7a Zwart

beste smartphone momenteel op de markt en slechts voor de helft van de prijs van andere flagships. Toestel ziet er top uit en is een plezier om te gebruiken. ColorOS, de Oppo skin op android, heeft veel potentieel maar moet nog aardig bijgestuurd worden.

Pluspunten

  • Camera (zowel 13MP als de UltraHD-functie is top)
  • VOOC Fastcharging
  • Geluid (zowel door speaker als via headset)
  • ColorOS (TopOS)
  • Snelheid
  • Beeldkwaliteit
  • Bouwkwaliteit
  • Design
  • notification bar

Minpunten

  • Bereik in afgelegen plaatsen
  • Bugs in ColorOS

Eindoordeel

Score: 5Per criterium
Beeldkwaliteit opname Score: 5
Accuduur Score: 5
Gebruiksgemak Score: 5
Bouwkwaliteit Score: 5
Bereik Score: 4
Design Score: 5
Scherm Score: 5
Featureset Score: 5
Betrouwbaarheid Score: 5
Prijs Score: 5
Package
First things first, so I have to start this review with a short opinion about the package the Find 7a is shipped in. It looks stunning! The box is made from great material and the chrome Oppo logo, which accompanies the silver lining dividing the box in two, gives it a very premium look. It’s nothing like other phone boxes and more like the packages of eg. luxury watches.

Box.jpg

Inside the box I found my Find7a. I pre-ordered without having seen any proper pictures of the midnight back cover. In previews it looked black sometimes, which I don’t like, and other times it looked grey, which is even worse. When I turned the phone I was over the moon (hence Midnight ;) ), the color was a more blueish grey which is a very premium color in my opinion.

Back.JPG

I never saw a phone with such a nice design, it seems everything has been thought out and considered very carefully. The black front which goes over in the midnight backcover via 2 chrome strips make this the most luxurious looking phone I have ever seen. The skyline notification bar is the icing on the cake. It defines the phone.

image.jpg

Some may say it’s a shame there is only one color and thus no signal for different messages, but I can see why Oppo did this. Other colors wouldn’t fit the phone like bleu does.

Camera
For me, the camera is the most important part of a phone. I like taking pictures but I don’t like having to carry a camera with me. The 13 megapixel camera with a Sony lens would surely do the trick (big fan of the Carl Zeiss lenses Sony & Nokia phones used to have), but I was most interested by the 50 megapixel feature. I was sceptic about this as it’s just a software trick. But I’m rather satisfied with it.

It takes like 5 seconds to process but you don’t have to freeze that time. The result is a huge picture which gives you the opportunity to zoom in and select the part you like afterwards.

The result is much better than if you would zoom in using regular mode. Can’t put an example here due to the size of the pictures, but I took a very nice pictures of two cats under a tree from a distance of 10 metres, cropping it to only select the cats. My grandparents were very pleased with their new screensaver.

To make it up you will find a picture of a Stevia-leaf (4-5cm across) you can see the detail in the nerves (Click the picture to get amazed!). It’s was taken in normal mode with average/good light conditions.

leaf.jpg

Also in lowlight conditions the phone performs rather well. I bought a tripod to test out the slow-shuttermode as I saw some very nice pictures made with this mode, but it didn't arrive yet so you'll have to trust my words.
dark.jpg

Only drawback from the camera is that it can oversaturate some colors like green & red…

ColorOS
As I am new to Oppo I never saw ColorOS and just hoped it would perform well. I became a believers since…
I like the theme manager. It allows you to easily access lots of themes without having to browse for them in the playstore and not being sure whether they will work on the phone or not. Best of all it gives the option between some lockscreens. And I actually like some very much (Like the Europe flight one)

Lockscreen.png

Another very nice feature are the gestures. You can assign anything you want to any draft you please. This makes it very cool to have personal drawings for eg. Text your girlfriend when drawing a heart :#niceguy: or starting Shazam with a musicnote. This menu can be accessed from almost anywhere by pulling down the notification bar from the top right.

Screenshot_2014-06-06-22-18-43-986.png

The notification bar, is another very nice feature in ColorOS, it gives quickswitches for anything you like and if you pull it down further there are even more specific settings. Love it!

Also doubletap to wake is very nice. I find myself not using the powerbutton anymore. it's much easier to just doubletap the screen to wake up the phone. Never had a problem with autounlocking in my pocket.

I do notice ghost touches and I think this is a ColorOS problem, sometimes when scrolling down it selects instead of scrolling. This can be an annoyance, but because the phone is incredibly fast (next up) it doesn’t bother me at all. In other words ColorOS is not perfect and there will be people who like it and people who don’t. If you don’t like it, root your phone and flash another rom (you are allowed by Oppo, how nice is that?)

Processor
I’m very impulsive. When I saw the phone for the first time it was a week before the pre-orders started… I couldn’t wait for the 2K model so I told myself the only difference would be the better display (and this would not be noticeable as it’s only 5.5”) and the 1gb more Ram (needed for the display & 2GB is more than enough).
I’m very happy I didn’t wait... The Find 7a is incredibly fast…

I come from Nokia Lumia 920, Samsung Galaxy S3 and other flagship phones but I’ve never seen anything like this. Look at my Antutu benchmark… a 400$ phone beats the HTC one M8 & Samsung Galaxy S5 which are almost double the price!

antutu.png

I don’t need to tell you that it plays 3D games like Real Racing or GT racing as if it’s the most normal thing on earth to play heavy games like that on a phone… (10 years ago Snake was all we had! 2 Years ago there where no such games for even PC/playstation!)

GT racing.png

Display
It’s only a full HD display… Wrong! It’s the nicest display I’ve ever seen. I was afraid of the size with 5.5 inch display but as the phone is rather sleek you don’t even notice it in your pocket. The Phablet-size is very welcome when browsing, playing games or checking documents. Very happy with this too.

There is a minor downfall here too: It performs very poor in bright daylight. I don’t know if it is because the autobightness doesn’t adjust or because of the reflective glass. But under the sun your screen is black… as in: it’s seems like it’s off, but it isn’t. Some say removing the factory screenprotector might help, I’m not bothered too much so I’ll keep it for now.

Sound
I’m not big of a music guy (I like it but I don’t need it all the time), but I’m sure this phone will please everybody who does like listening to music. The Maxxaudiosettings complement the speakers very well. They go loud, maybe even to loud. (I had to lower them because my ringtone was too loud even on the lowest setting).

Furthermore you can notice some bass which is rather nice for a phonespeaker. Next time Oppo should try to put the speakers front-facing though, when gaming or watching movies you lose some sound because they are on the back (kudos to the Htc One here).

Connectivity
I have mixed feelings about this. In most places connectivity is great, full bars, superfast internet via both 3 & 4G, no connection lost… but in some places, where other phones will have poor connectivity like: “1 bar only, receiving and sending texts & bad call quality”, the Oppo just loses it. This can be very frustrating. As this means you’re cut off from the world. In modern days this is a big problem as everybody expects you to be within reach.

Fastcharging
For everybody who is still hesitating between this and another phone to be the next in line, VOOC fastcharging is the reason why you should go for the Oppo Find 7(a). I would say every phone should have this, but I know there are patents pending.

fastcharging.jpg

Fastcharging changes the way you use your phone. Within 30 minutes you’ll reach 75% which means you are up for another 15 hours with wifi, 4g, bleutooth, nfc (short everything) switched on.

I always forgot to charge my phone and was left with empty batteries more than once. Wireless charging was a good alternative and things got better. Since I’ve been using the Oppo, I never ran out of juice!

My scenario
When I come out of bed in the morning I plug in my Oppo (it drains rather much overnight so in the morning it’s empty most of the time) while I take a shower etc. I never have breakfast so between the time I wake up and the time I leave to school/work there is max 1,5 hour. In that time I’m from 0 to 100%, I always leave home with a full battery.

(other phones are plugged in in the evening and charge overnight, uses more current and is bad for the battery)

As I say I have all my settings on because I want to stay connected everywhere and want to tap into Wifi networks as much as I can, to save on my data-limit. I do about 3-4 hours of screentime a day checking mails, browsing the internet and occasionally playing a game. When I get home at 8pm I have two choices: Will I go out? – Yes or no.

If not, I just let my phone where it is and will it will make it till bedtime.
If yes, I just plug it in 30 minutes before I want to leave and I’m good for the night.

With VOOC fastcharging, you won’t be bothered with having to charge up you phone. Within a short time you reach a reasonable level and you’re good to go.

Conclusion
I’m sorry guys for this ridiculous long review but I could go on for much longer.

I love my Oppo even though it has some minor setbacks. I can’t imagine a better phone (No not even the cheaper One+) and I’m certain people will love how excellent this phone is. I’m not even adding: “for the price”. Because if it would be some 100 bucks more it would still be good value. I really appreciate Oppo for offering us a Topspec phone for a reasonable price.

If anybody has further questions, feel free to contact me and I will do my best to help you out.
Thanks for reading my review!

Bekijk alle afbeeldingen:

Heb jij ook een Oppo Find 7a Zwart?

Deel je ervaringen en help andere tweakers!

Schrijf review

Populaire reviews door gebruikers

Reacties (16)

Wijzig sortering
hoeveel batterijduur krijg je er nu uit? snelladen is wel leuk, maar je kunt niet overal laden :P

je plaatjes doen het niet, voor de rest mooie review!
Ik kan slechts 4 afbeeldingen plaatsen dus heb degene geplaatst die een meerwaarde bieden (onderaan vind je deze terug).

Ik heb Wifi, 3g, bleutooth, NFC, gestures, voice wake-up en al de andere nest aanstaan en haal met 3-4 uur screentime toch 20-24 uur. Met de energiespaarstand en enkel mobiel netwerk & gestures aan moet ik de 2e dag ook wel bijna doorkomen denk ik.Ik heb mensen gehoord die Gummi draaien (een 3d party-rom) en die halen er zelfs 3-4 dagen uit.

's nachts doet hij soms vreemde dingen, soms loopt hij op een nacht 20-30% kwijt, vanacht amper 5... Is dus ook iets met ColorOs en zal waarschijnlijk in latere updates gecorrigeerd worden. Momenteel durft het wel eens wat te verschillen maar de dag haal je steeds (en mijn dagen beginnen vroeg/eindigen laat).

Al bij al ben ik zeer tevreden met deze batterijduur voor een gsm met een 5,5 inch scherm en alle instellingen aan.

De doos:
http://www.oppoforums.com/attachments/box-jpg.19139/

De kleur:
http://www.oppoforums.com/attachments/back-jpg.19138/

De zeer gedetailleerde foto (zeker niet op vergroten vergeten drukken voor het waaw effect):
http://www.oppoforums.com/attachments/leaf-jpg.19144/

Foto bij zeer slecht licht:
http://www.oppoforums.com/attachments/dark-jpg.19140/

[Reactie gewijzigd door AccroCitroen op 7 juni 2014 20:47]

Nope, batterij doet het heel goed. Geen idee waarom je denk dat het een dikke min is.

Ik ben zeer tevreden dat ik met alle instellingen aan de dag haal, om 10 uur vlak voor het stappen gaan, een half uurtje inplug en de volgende dag desnoods ook haal.

Blijkbaar is het NFC die de batterij zo leeghaalt. Ik heb dit eergisteren afgezet en ook deze nacht ben ik slechts enkele % kwijt geraakt. Ik heb nu met 24u gebruikt nog geschat 7 uur over met tot nu toe 2uur en 10 minuten screentime. (opnieuw: alles aan; wifi, netwerk, 3 emailadressen die pushen, facebook (&messenger) constant aan.)

fastcharging werkt momenteel nog niet in de auto aangezien er (nog) geen VOOC autoladers zijn. (tenzij je echt een stopcontact in de auto hebt en je fastcharger daarin plugt mss)

VOOC is deels Soft en deels hardware.
-de lader zelf is gemaakt om tot 4.5A uit te sturen en de GSM is aangepast om via 6 (ipv 3?) pinnetjes al deze stroom snel op te kunnen slaan. De VOOC lader is ook iets langer om de een of andere reden.

Je kan de oppo ook opladen met een gewone lader, maar dan gaat het even snel als bij al de rest nl. 2A dat zal dus ook zijn met autoladers. (Een VOOC lader kost ook 50 euro ;) )

-Software zorgt ervoor dat de eerst 75-80% aan volle snelheid worden binnengehaald, de laatste percenten gaan terug aan 2A om oververhitting te voorkomen.

[Reactie gewijzigd door AccroCitroen op 8 juni 2014 10:43]

waar lees je dat ik slechts 10 uur uit een accu haal? ik haal ongeveer 3x dat uit een accu.

Zoals ik al zei is de speciale lader enkel nodig voor het snelladen en werkt een gewone lader evengoed. met een normale autolader kun je hem dus evengoed opladen, enkel duurt het dan even lang als bij een Galaxy S5, HTC one M8 en al de rest. :/

Op kantoor zit je ook uren, dus ik zie niet in waarom je daar een snellader nodig zou hebben. :? Ook daar kun je de gewone lader gebruiken.

Ik snap niet waar je een probleem van maakt (aangezien er geen is) maar als je een zelf te bekrompen bent om erbij te blijven dat dit toestel een slechte batterij heeft is dat jouw zaak. 8)7 Ik denk dat ik hierboven heb aangetoont dat de er echt geen slecht woord kan gezegd worden over de batterij behalve dat deze 's nachts wel eens durft leeg te lopen en dat dit waarschijnlijk door het Os komt aangezien andere roms dit probleem niet hebben.

Jammer dat jij de objectiviteit van de review in twijfel trekt maar ik ben er zeker van dat je daar een van de weinige in zal zijn. Ik werk niet voor Oppo, noch ben ik reseller... Ik heb er dus geen enkele baat bij om hier lucht te liggen verkopen, de review dient ertoe mensen kennis te laten maken met mijn ervaringen over het toestel en hen bij te staan in hun keuzeproces. In mijn review haal ik ook de minpunten van het toestel aan: zoals slechte zichtbaarheid in fel licht, het bereik dat soms wegvalt, bugs in ColorOS ed. Als ik al een fanboy ben omdat dit gewoon een goed toestel is waar niet veel slechts over te zeggen valt... doe gerust. |:(

[Reactie gewijzigd door AccroCitroen op 8 juni 2014 10:45]

Video gepost op 8 mei 2014 = 1 dag nadat de leveringen waren begonnen.

Ik citeer: "The cellular network and phone idle are taking up a lot of battery space"..."Hopefully they will update that in a software update to help with te battery life."

Die update is er dus enkele weken later gekomen. Cellular neemt nu niet meer het grootste deel van de batterij in maar dat doet het scherm. Wat normaal is. (dit toont ook aan dat Oppo regelmatig updates doorvoert. Ik heb er op ongeveer een maand tijd 3 gehad.)

Ik heb mijn batterijduur na deze update dan ook gigantisch zien toenemen. zoals hierboven al 10x vermeld. Ik haal makkelijk 20-30 uur uit een batterij en ik push alles en heb alle verbindingen aan staan (ivm smartwatch ed.). moet ik nu echt een screenshot van de batterymanager posten om dit te bewijzen??? 8)7

Dus: Ik post hier een review, weloverwogen en een maand gewacht om zeker te zijn om een nuttige inbreng te kunnen geven. Gelieve deze dan niet te vergelijken met een review die een maand geleden is gepost door iemand die het toestel misschien max een week heeft gebruikt. :X
Btw de kleur is Midnight en in geen geval zwart...
Volgensmij zijn ze nooit zo blij met Engelstalige reviews...

Mooie review! Prijs is idd erg netjes.

Prachtige telefoon.
Jammer, Dit is de review die ik voor Oppoforum ook heb geschreven. heeft me een uur of twee gekost dus ga echt geen moeite doen om die te vertalen ;)

Degene die hem niet wil/kan lezen weet genoeg met de + en - punten bovenaan }>
Degene die echt interesse heeft in deze telefoon, zal er geen probleem uit maken dat het in het engels staat. :P

Bedankt btw :*)
Hey man, ten eerste; don't care if it is in english, love the review;
Ten tweede, Er zijn geen problemen om te bellen, ... op het Belgische netwerk? (aangezien ik zag dat je Telenet als provider hebt)

Want ik wil deze week ook bestellen, en dit is mijn enige overgebleven vraag, want dit ziet er mij een prachtige gsm smartphone uit.
Bedankt :D

Ik ben Telenet ja. Zoals je in de review kan lezen ben ik gemengd over de connectiviteit. Meestal is die denderend. Alle blokjes, snel internet etc...

Echter in de meer rurale gebieden, waar een ander merk 1 blokje heeft en moeite met bellen durft de oppo wel eens gewoon het signaal te verliezen... Wat wel vervelend kan zijn.

Hangt er dus vanaf hoe de verbinding normaal gezien is waar je woont. :)
Okay, thanks voor de snelle reactie. Mijn gedacht staat nu vast. IKWILMHEBBE!
Momenteel wel alleen wit beschikbaar ;) ik denk dat ze productie ff stil hebben gezet om de One+ te maken.
Goed weer een maand later dus natuurlijk wat meer nieuwe ervaringen.

1 Negatieve ervaring:
Een aantal apps draaien niet op ColorOS. Zo zijn er blijkbaar problemen met Navigon en Asphalt6, ook facebook messenger werkt tegen momenteel. Misschien dan toch maar eens overwegen om te rooten en een andere rom te installeren. ;)

1 Positieve ervaring:
In de oorspronkelijke review had ik een opmerking gemaakt over het netwerk dat in afgelegen plaatsen erg zwak is, welnu die statement moet ik terugtrekken. :X Ik had 4G uitgezet omdat ik er het nut niet echt van inzag en vreesde voor drastische leegloop van de batterij. Nu heb ik 4G toevallig opgezet en merk ik dat mijn netwerk een pak beter is. Waar ik vroeger 0-2 blokjes had, kom ik nu niet meer onder de 3. _/-\o_


Om te kunnen reageren moet je ingelogd zijn



Nintendo Switch Google Pixel XL 2 LG W7 Samsung Galaxy S8 Google Pixel 2 Sony Bravia A1 OLED Microsoft Xbox One X Apple iPhone 8

© 1998 - 2017 de Persgroep Online Services B.V. Tweakers vormt samen met o.a. Autotrack en Hardware.Info de Persgroep Online Services B.V. Hosting door True

*